Cheering for Gibsland-Coleman Cheerleaders

YouTube Poster

By Bonnie Culverhouse

Gibsland Coleman Bulldog Cheerleaders took home a first place trophy this year in Minden’s Black History Month parade.

The group won Most Spirited Group after performing in front of a panel of judges at Minden’s Civic Center.

Black History Month 2023 continues, but the parade and awards Saturday were for the books.

Food trucks, vendors and a Battle of the Bands were enough to put smiles on faces on a cold but beautiful day.

Retired City Attorney L. Charles Minefield served as this year’s Grand Marshall.  Parade entries competed for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Place in the following categories:  Best Decorated Car/Truck, Best Decorated Float, Best Band Performance and Most Spirited Group.   The judges had a tough job in deciding winners.  This year’s winners are:

Best Decorated Car/Truck:

1st Place – Tiny Miss North Webster Lower Elementary

2nd Place – Jamaria “Juicy” Clark, “Mr. 3000”

3rd Place – Trail Babes & Bandits

Best Decorated Float:

1st Place – Abdul Temple #94

2nd Place – Academy of Pearls, Alpha Kappa Alpha

3rd Place – Louisiana Panthers

Best Band Performance

1st Place – Huntington High School Juke Box Band

2nd Place – Minden High School Band of Pride

3rd Place – Bastrop High School Band

Most Spirited Group

1st Place – Gibsland Coleman Bulldog Cheerleaders

2nd Place – Rare Breed Motorcycle Club

3rd Place – Lee Lodge #221

Outstanding Participation

Huntington High School

At the conclusion of the 35+ entry parade, a crowd pleaser, the Annual Battle of the Bands  featured Minden High School, Bastrop High School and Huntington High School competing for bragging rights as winner.

Following the Parade and Battle Bands, the Annual Youth Rally featured the honoring of local Trail Blazers who have made historical accomplishments and/or service to our community.  

This year’s honorees were Cassandra Swan -Health Care, Rev. Billy J. Hawkins – Ministerial, Frankie Mitchell – Education, Joe Cornelius – Community Service, Walter Morgan, Jr. -Entrepreneurship, Jamria “Juicy” Clark – Mr. 3000, High school Career Points scored, and L’Jarius Sneed – Super Bowl LVII Championship.

The Endow A Dream Scholarship recipients were announced. This year scholarship winners are Brelyn Winzer, Jackson, Jasmine Sneed, and Alex Martin

 “Kay O” of  Rare Breed Motorcycle Club of Houston, Texas motivated the young people to be the best they can be and never give up no matter what they face in life.

Local Vendors were on hand offering various food options, crafts, sweet treats, and important information regarding health insurance.  

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply Cancel reply