SHS Principal Scott Canady nominated as 2024 Principal of the Year Semifinalist

Every year the Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) partners with Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Association of Principals to recognize teachers and school leaders who are making exceptional gains within their school and have remained committed to exemplifying student success in the classroom. School systems from across the state submitted their nominations. 

Yesterday, March 21, the LDOE announced the 2024 Teacher and Principal of the Year semifinalist and New Teacher of the Year finalists. 

Saline High School Principal Scott Canady was on that list and one out of 24 principals to receive this honor. 

“Schools across Louisiana are beginning to make significant gains thanks to the commitment of our teachers and principals to remain focused on what matters most – improving academic outcomes,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Cade Brumley. “Congratulations to Louisiana’s Teacher and Principal of the Year semifinalists and our New Teacher of the Year finalists. They represent the many dedicated professionals leading our Louisiana Comeback.” 

Saline High School was recently declared a “Louisiana Comeback Campus” by the LDOE. Comeback campuses are schools that have worked hard on their statewide assessment testing, to increase the percentage of students who have scored mastery and above and decreased the percentage of students scoring unsatisfactory in the subjects of math and English. These schools have also increased their ACT scores. 

Out of over 1,200 schools from across the state, only 41 made the cut in becoming a “Comeback Campus.” This is a tremendous accomplishment for the students and a reflection of the dedication by the Saline High School Principal, teachers and staff 

All Teacher and Principal of the Year semifinalists and New Teacher of the Year finalists will be honored at the 17th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala, which will be held at the National World War II Museum in New Orleans on July 22. 

A full list of semifinalists/finalists are listed below: 

Louisiana Teacher of the Year Semifinalists 

Ascension Parish: Kelly Landry 

Avoyelles Parish: Dannon Dauzat 

Bossier Parish: Cory Craig 

Bricolage Academy: Ronnika Allen 

Caddo Parish: Janet McCrevan 

City of Monroe School District: Kody Chase 

East Baton Rouge Parish: Kylie Altier 

Evangeline Parish: Timothy Comeaux 

Franklin Parish: Jessica Parker 

Grant Parish: Erin Melton 

Iberia Parish: Bernadette Fruge 

Iberville Parish: Devante Williams 

Jefferson Davis Parish: Aerial Storer 

Lake Charles Charter Academy: Kayla Hebert 

Natchitoches Parish: Michelle Shirley 

Ouachita Parish: Brittany Ellis 

St. John the Baptist Parish: Tariane Placide 

St. Mary Parish: Chasity Toups 

St. Tammany Parish: Kellee McClain 

Tangipahoa Parish: Dennis Pevey 

Vernon Parish: Christopher Deon 

Warren Easton Charter: Ryan Gilbert 

The Willow School: Richard Martin 

Zachary Community School District: Sandra Saye-Foucqueteau 

Louisiana Principal of the Year Semifinalists 

Allen Parish: Jennifer Doucet 

Ascension Parish: Marvin Evans 

Beauregard Parish: Mark Weldon 

Bienville Parish: Scott Canady 

Bossier Parish: Michael Pedrotty 

Calcasieu Parish: Jose Cobian 

Cameron Parish: Lindsey Fontenot 

DeSoto Parish : Barry Carter 

Jefferson Parish: Monya Criddle 

Lafayette Parish: Tia Trahan 

Lafourche Parish: Ragan Lorraine 

Lincoln Parish: Jennifer Martin 

Lincoln Preparatory School: Gordan Ford 

Livingston Parish: Jason St. Pierre 

Plaquemines Parish: John H. Vanison, Jr. 

Rapides Parish: Tracy Vorrice 

St. Charles Parish: Shannon Diodene 

St. James Parish: Angie Poche 

St. Landry Parish: Mitchell Fontenot 

St. Martin Parish: Wanda Phillips 

Terrebonne Parish: Blaise Pellegrin 

Vermilion Parish: Sonya Louviere 

West Baton Rouge Parish: Taya Loupe 

West Feliciana Parish: Karolyn Taylor 

Louisiana New Teacher of the Year Finalists 


Bossier Parish: Camille Cole 

Livingston Parish: Payton Onellion 

St. Landry Parish: Rebecca Spears 


Livingston Parish: Phoenix LeBlanc 

Plaquemines Parish: Emily Barker  

Zachary Community School District: Tristan George 


Bossier Parish: Brad Winstead 

Calcasieu Parish: Spencer Butts  

West Baton Rouge Parish: Anthony Felder  

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply Cancel reply